How to add people to a private meeting in Microsoft Teams after the meeting
Updated: May 2
Back in October I wrote a blog post about meetings in Microsoft Teams, there I walked you through what you can do before, during and after a meeting in Microsoft Teams. But as you know Microsoft Teams is an evolving product and since then things have happened!
Before I get into some of the latest changes, I wanted to give you a brief reminder of the different kinds of meeting types in Microsoft Teams. The different types we have are:
Meeting in a team, it can be scheduled, and it can be ad hoc
A meeting that isn’t connected to a team, Microsoft calls these meetings private meeting as will I from now on 😎
The change I will talk about in this post is for private meetings. Why should you use this kind of meeting when you could schedule a meeting in a team? The use cases I see for a meeting that isn’t connected to a team is one-time meetings.
But let’s have a look at what’s new! Up until now it hasn’t been possible to add people to a private meeting chat after the meeting, sometimes you might have shared notes and other interesting things you want to share with people that didn’t participate.
How to add a new person
1. If you want to add a person once the meeting is finished, you open the meeting chat. Locate it in the chat tab, it will have the same name as the meeting. On the funnel you can filter on all private meetings
2. There you’ll find the meeting and all the content that was shared, such as files, meeting notes and a whiteboard
3. In the right corner you’ll see an icon with a little number next to it. The number shows how many people that are part of the meeting. If you click the icon, you’ll see exactly who
4. In the bottom you’ll have an option called Add people. When you click it, you’ll have the same options as when you add a person in a group chat. I find it best to include all chat history to make sure everything is shared from the meeting
5. When you add more people, you’ll see the number increase 😊. And if you want to remove someone you just hoover and click X
How it will look for the other person?
The meeting will appear in the chat tab for ethe people you added.
I noticed that you won’t receive a notification if someone adds you to a private meeting, so it could be a good idea to tag the person you add! Then you will see all the meeting content that has been shared (or well how many days of history as they decided to share 😉).
If you feel that nah - I don’t want to be here you can leave the meeting, but not if you’re the owner of the meeting.
What if I add external people?
To be able to add external people they must have been added before as a guest, you can’t add new people here.
The difference for external people is that they can’t see the files tab (but they can open the shared files anyway) nor the whiteboard.
I like flexibility and I like not being stuck with a choice I did without a lot of thinking 😊, so I welcome this change!
When can you expect to see this in your Microsoft Teams?
Microsoft will rollout this mid-December. But if you’re already a part of a private meeting you will see this feature now.